Welcome! Hope you see some artwork that pleases you, if not now, maybe next time…

Posting the whole page.

In my previous post, José made the suggestion that I post the full page and not only detail. So I took him up on his suggestion to show my pages, because there may be others thinking that I post the detail and not the whole sketch. I took the last couple of sketches in my sketchbook. Unfortunately it doesn’t look more interesting and there isn’t actually a bigger picture! I think you could say I “zoom in and choose to sketch detail”. What fascinates me is a broken window shutter, the the moss on a fountain, the intricate woodwork on a wall, a dilapidated door, a doorknob, the corner of a cornice, a shadow on a table, one flower in a bouquet…. so that is what I zoom in to. My sketchbooks are 19×24 cm and I use up all the space when I sketch. I struggle to paint on small format.

When I post, I don’t use any enhancement in terms of contrast or colour correction or whatever, except for the crop tool and then only to “neaten up” the page. It can be seen in image 1 and 2, where in image 2, I only took out the background and excessive white paper. And then of course I only post one page, because I scan most of the time and the whole sketchbook is too big for my scanner. And I also get nice white paper with the scanner.

Maybe it is time I zoom out and see the big picture….perhaps life could be less stressful…philosophically speaking?

…image 1…

…image 2…

…moleskine people sketches…

24 responses

  1. hi ronnel, the photos need to be adjusted so that the background matches the colour of the support. these all look much darker and your wonderful work cannot be enjoyed. dont know if you have a histogram in your photo app in which you can adjust the knobs at the two ends till the image matches what you have in your sketchbook. it is simple to use. thanks for sharing the full pages :D

    July 15, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  2. hfm

    I like this sequence.

    July 15, 2008 at 7:37 pm

  3. Wow these are fantastic! Im looking forward to using paint one day also. I gave you an award on my blog. You are a fantastic artist. In accepting the award, you are not obligated to continue with the nomination of others, but it is fun and encouraging all at the same time!

    July 15, 2008 at 8:22 pm

  4. Beautiful Ronell!! I love seeing the full page and your sketches of buildings have such substance and depth. I love your color combinations. Summer has been busy and I haven’t been by in a while…. it’s always a treat!

    July 15, 2008 at 8:27 pm

  5. sandy

    Well I always enjoy your posts, and YES the facinating posts are of the detail and oddness in any setting- I love these pages, but would like to zoom in larger to get a closer look. Just be yourself, have fun and post and let the chips fall where they may

    July 15, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  6. Ooooh, it is nice to see the full layout here–I love the size of your book–did you make it yourself, or did you buy that size? I think these are wonderful little vignettes of life. You have a loose, but descriptive style that I love.

    July 15, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  7. flyingpictures

    these are absolutely gorgeous and I agree – they are so much nicer IRL – I know cos of our FPP exchange :>) – and twitching the histogram to correct will show them at their best

    I find the paper colour is often wrong and the contrast or colour balance is just slightly out.

    Vivien

    July 15, 2008 at 9:26 pm

  8. I love love love your visual journal. It is so colorful and the designs are so unique. And the little details just catch my fancy!

    July 15, 2008 at 11:56 pm

  9. Thanks for sharing the whole page. It is great to see how you work. I also like the details.

    July 16, 2008 at 2:58 am

  10. Stunning, Ronell! Like Vivien, I was really struck by the brilliance and clarity of your watercolours when I got to see them IRL.

    It is terrific to be able to step back and see the balance of the whole page and imagine leafing through your sketchbook.

    July 16, 2008 at 10:15 am

  11. I enjoy your sketchbooks immensely. They’re very inspiring!

    I have nominated you for an award on my blog. Come check it out!

    Participation, of course, is optional.

    Blessings,
    Mark

    July 16, 2008 at 10:38 am

  12. It’s so nice to see so many of your pages at one go, albeit at a distance. I’m lucky enough to have seen your work in person, so I know how it crackles with energy and your personality!

    July 16, 2008 at 11:54 am

  13. Yor sketchbooks, and sketches are just a joy to look at in whatever format – I’m amazed that you have such great paintings on each successive page, your style is so consistent and distinctive!…my sketchbooks have one OK sketch, two or three flops, another OK one…etc etc!

    July 16, 2008 at 5:03 pm

  14. These are really fun and interesting! I prefer the closeups because of the size, but it’s intriguing to see the full spreads. Please give us an occasional spread.

    July 16, 2008 at 5:19 pm

  15. lin

    I too love seeing the entire page — it creates a fabulous ‘flow’ and sense of the entire project!! What a spectacular book, Ronell!!!! Each page is beautiful!! The colors — especially viewed all together — create such a dreamy experience!!!

    July 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

  16. Hello
    I see what you mean. In fact this way we lost the detail. But once in a while its good to see the all picture.
    I think you could use the enhancement, i do. And you could show the journal in true size, just need to not reduce the image when you post it.
    Well, i love your work anyway.

    July 16, 2008 at 9:34 pm

  17. Hi Ronell,
    Thanks for your comments on my doodles. I appreciate them very much…as for my laptop..I hope that I can get the issue resolved with as less stress as possible too *crying*

    July 17, 2008 at 7:10 am

  18. I must admit, I do like seeing them in the context of your sketchbook. I love looking at people’s sketchbook pages. There’s something about them that inspires me to go out and sketch!

    July 17, 2008 at 10:34 am

  19. Amazing series of spreads. I particularly dig the people sketches — you are such an observer!

    July 18, 2008 at 7:13 am

  20. Beautiful pages! Love the way they just kind of drift off the page. I like being able to see the detail in the parts you zoom in on but I like seeing it in the context of the whole page too. Maybe you could spoil us and show both ;-}

    July 18, 2008 at 4:29 pm

  21. juj

    Love getting the chance to see your sketches in situ so to speak, but I think you should worry less about what works for any of us and worry more about what works for you. I would think that would be the solution to lessening stress. lol Besides, in the end we’d all be happy no matter what you posted – we just like getting to peak over your should now and again.

    July 19, 2008 at 4:28 am

  22. I personally prefer to look at one page at a time – you get to see the details better, but I’m happy to see whatever you decide to “give” us. Most of all, blogging should be about pleasure and not about stress.

    July 21, 2008 at 1:12 am

  23. oh dear, do what ever you please!!! Your talent comes across no matter what format we see it in. I personally like the zoomed in detail because I have such bad vision.
    You have been busy! I love coming by to see what’s new!

    July 21, 2008 at 4:24 am

Tthank you for your visit and comment, II appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers