Welcome! Hope you see some artwork that pleases you, if not now, maybe next time…

Sketches from Oslo.

We were in Oslo last week. My first time. I mentioned how much I loved Helsinki, but I fell head over heels for Oslo! It is a lovely city, with beautiful architecture, a warm ambiance, wonderful views, great people…it is wonderful! I can’t wait to go back for a longer and a decent visit.  My next stop will be Greenland!

Time was too pressed to do much, but at least I got to see “the scream”  by Edvard Munch up and close, definitely not one of my favourite paintings. The secret to his work, I think,  is that it should be viewed from a distance. His strokes are sometimes so messy and careless from close by that it bothers and disturbs the eye, but from far, his work has magic and I could even fall for “the vampire“, though I dislike  all kinds of vampire pictures and tales. His dawings and sketches and lithographs also attract me far more than his paintings and there you can really see that he has a swift and sure hand. I especially enjoyed his “Towards the forest” drawings, his alpha and omega series, his “Starry night“, so different from Van gogh. I still can’t really make up my mind whether the art of Edvard Munch “speaks” to me…but Oslo certainly does!

Photos of Oslo can be seen on Salmon-with-a-creamy-herb-sauce-and-a-trip-to-Oslo at Myfrenchkitchen.

All sketches done in pencil and watercolor in watercolor sketchbook.

13 responses

  1. siarna

    I love your blog…fantastic sketches ;)

    March 17, 2010 at 7:38 pm

  2. hfm

    Great!

    March 17, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  3. Beautiful sketches. I have never been to Oslo–sounds really nice.

    March 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm

  4. I’ve never even thought of going to Oslo, but maybe I should! Glad you had such a lovely trip there, and brought back such beautiful sketches – the top and bottom buildings are quite a distinctive sort of architecture aren’t they?
    Re your comment on my sunflowers – I almost emailed to ask if I could get bigger photos of your sunflower references you generously offered, but saw you were away, so just used the one provided for the workshop – but maybe I’ll do some more one day if the offer still stands…

    March 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm

  5. I do like these lively sketches – particularly the middle one with the vibrant blue colours. I always think sketches bring back so many more memories than photographs.

    March 17, 2010 at 10:35 pm

  6. Your sketches are full of life and movement. Very nice!

    March 17, 2010 at 11:57 pm

  7. Just lovely, Ronell. I really, really like your style very much, I always looked forward to your “sketch posts”.

    So glad your trip was a good one.

    xo ~Dana

    March 18, 2010 at 4:35 am

  8. They are gorgeous. I was so thrilled to see them as i love your work.
    Thank you so much for your kind comments too.
    Cheers,
    Erin

    March 18, 2010 at 7:36 am

  9. You are in an area I’ve never visited…yet! I like these. Your architectural renderings show just enough detail to show the charm of the buildings. I really like the second one with the canopied windows and the umbrellas. Nice work!!!

    March 18, 2010 at 4:54 pm

  10. Tracey

    Wonderful sketches! It sounds like an interesting place to visit.

    March 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm

  11. I haven’t been to Helsinki or to Oslo though I did get to Stockholm and it was beautiful there. I’m imagining that these 3 cities might have a lot in common. So glad you enjoyed your visit.

    March 20, 2010 at 10:12 pm

  12. Fantastic sketches, Ronelle. I especially like the last one, with the toned-down colours. I´m glad you went to Oslo, so I got to see some drawings from there!

    March 22, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  13. A short visit, but you’ve managed to do three gorgeous sketches!! And they must have taken quite a long time too! I only went once to Stockholm (short visit too) and I also fell head over heels for the city – so different from all I know!

    March 24, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Tthank you for your visit and comment, II appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 731 other followers