Welcome! Hope you see some artwork that pleases you, if not now, maybe next time…

A sunshine tulip and white sketches.

The tulips I brought back from Amsterdam last year are all in bloom, except for 3 Allium bulbs that I lost to greedy rabbits. I picked all white bulbs and got  big surprise when a few of the carefully picked white bulbs turned out to be a bright sunny yellow! That is OK. Oh well,  I am not too angry. Seeing that we are still wearing winter clothes and waiting for spring weather, I can only imagine the yellow was chosen by fate to uplift my spirit..some very welcome sunshine in a tulip!

As usual, I wait until the very last to get something done..including sketching the tulips. The yellow ones lost all their petals today, except for one lonely one, hanging on a few petals only for my benefit. While mon chéri saw to diner, I took the opportunity to sketch these tulips, before the fat lady had finally sung. I made it just in time…all the yellow petals are gone..

tulipes- yellow  4424x4451

The white tulips are still flowering happily and elegant in their waving. I am not a huge tulip fan and never had many in my gardens, but I have to admit that they do make for a spectacular show en masse!

tulipes -white 4404x4460

à bientôt

Ronelle

6 responses

  1. I am learning online how to paint tulips:)

    A little class for me..

    This is great!
    Toi.. c’est de l’art..moi..c’est wannabe.

    May 2, 2013 at 11:25 pm

  2. Glad you captured the yellow one. What a lovely surprise. Both these sketches are lovely.
    I miss spring flowers, especially daffodills :(

    May 3, 2013 at 1:08 pm

  3. Only the very, very early tulips are blooming here but not the big ones yet. I do love tulips and I think they make one of the best subjects to paint.

    Your sketches are lovely!

    May 3, 2013 at 11:23 pm

  4. It brings happiness to my day when you post your sketches, recipes…anything. A while back photographed lilacs…ah, such memories from when we lived in western USA and had many lilac trees in our yard. There was even a Lilac Park that held a festival when their many varieties of lilacs were in full bloom. Now we live in the SE of USA and lilacs do not grow well. THank you for taking the time to photograph or sketch these beautiful moments in your life. smiles: sharon

    May 9, 2013 at 3:20 pm

  5. Beautiful sketches of the tulips. They must look wonderful as a group! Thanks for sharing.

    May 23, 2013 at 9:29 pm

  6. Pingback: 61: Starts with Cathedrals. Ends with Notebooks. | Almofate's Likes

Tthank you for your visit and comment, II appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 613 other followers