Welcome! Hope you see some artwork that pleases you, if not now, maybe next time…

Nasturtiums in watercolour

The nasturtiums are slow off the mark this year..our summer being cold and very wet and a nasturtium a lover of warmth. But they are getting there and the flowers as always, playful and gay!

..red nasturtium..

watercolor and pen in Le Coq watercolor sketchbook, 19x19cm

Capucine 1

..yellow/apricot nasturtium..

watercolor and dipping pen with “Lie du thé” ink from J. Herbin in Le Coq watercolor sketchbook, 19x19cm

Capucine 2-001

…à bientôt…

Ronelle

7 responses

  1. I have my first bloom but it is raining..love how you paint and sketch..I can’t do 3 dimensions:(Love the splatters..they are perfect to me.
    J’adore les capucines.

    June 22, 2013 at 6:04 pm

  2. Love the red ones.
    I hope your summer improves.

    June 23, 2013 at 7:49 am

  3. They are slow here as well – ours don’t even have any flowers yet!

    Lovely watercolor sketches, Ronelle.

    June 24, 2013 at 12:46 am

  4. I love nasturtiums and use the pods to make a spicy hot vinegar and the flowers in salads. I love your paintings. May I ask you a question, I am looking for a book to help me with water colours and this is the quick stetchy style paintings that I want to learn to do but all the books I have seen are on either more detailed botanical styles or wildly washed out landscapes etc. Can you recommend anything?

    June 24, 2013 at 9:37 am

    • HI Karon…Thank you!
      One or two books you may enjoy…are the books from Charles Reid; there are several. Judi Whitton and Mel Stabin are two others who paint very loosely.
      Hope it helps. good luck!
      Ronelle

      June 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm

  5. Thank you everybody!
    Ronelle

    June 26, 2013 at 7:31 pm

  6. I appreciate the suggestions too..
    I also wondered if you would share the big spatter technique?:) I have splattered but have never obtained such a nice bigger splash?

    June 28, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Tthank you for your visit and comment, II appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 731 other followers