There is always something to pick up on a walk and take home to sketch, especially on a rainy day like we had today. I picked up a few twigs and leaves..which are always good to sketch. Leaves in winter have fascinating shapes which make up for their overall monotone brown color.

I also sketched some scampi and prawns, which are normally a translucent, greyish color, but turn red after cooking. Unfortunataly I couldn’t put these to mouth after sketching them..it felt a bit too “cannibalistic” to eat them after studying them so up and close…

..all sketches done in Fabriano artisico water color sketchbook, 18x26cm, with inks and watercolor..

…scampi and prawns..

..dry leaves of “Platanes” (Sycamore)tree and moss covered twig..

..a variety of seeds, leaves and twigs..

..bon week-end et à la prochaine fois..

Ronell

9 thoughts on “Sketches in January 2011-flora of the Loire

  1. I yearn to paint like this..It is a great idea..it must be so relaxing..My friend is organizing her studio this afternoon.. she is my neighbor..you would like her..These are just lovely.. I can imagine not wanting to eat the scampi..But they are so good.
    I remember the one art class I took..she would put milkpods.. branches etc..on the table and have us sketch them in pencil..they were some of the most relaxing moments! I loved the group and she was so nice.
    You brought back comforting memories:)

  2. Perfect prawns, Ronell. Reminds me of Hiroshige. I’d love to see more in this style. You are off to a wonderful, productive new year.

  3. These are gorgeous, Ronell! What lovely reminders of your day. I like the way you’ve used different coloured inks for the lines on the prawns. I also love the moss on the stick – it’s so ‘mossy’!

Tthank you for your visit and comment, II appreciate it!